top of page

Congratulations to the 2023 CGA-IGC Award Recipients!

Updated: Apr 15

We are proud to honor distinguished #CGAIGC members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of #HereditaryGICancer & our society.

2023 CGA-IGC Dennis J. Ahnen Outstanding Service Award

The Outstanding Service Award was created in honor of Dr. Ahnen, a tireless and selfless champion in colorectal cancer prevention and advancing the care of patients with hereditary gastrointestinal syndromes. He was a devoted member of CGA-IGC and made many contributions to the organization, including his efforts as part of the Collaborative Fund and the Education Committee. This award honors individuals who have contributed significantly to the society’s health and welfare.

There is absolutely no doubt that Elena Martinez Stoffel is one of the most deserving CGA-IGC members for this recognition. She joined the CGA-IGC in 2002 and has consistently played a crucial role in the growth and success of the organization. Her exceptional service was evident during her tenure on the Executive Council from 2010 to 2012 and as President from 2014 to 2015. Her incredible legacy of selflessness and unwavering commitment to servant leadership has had an indelible and lasting impact on the remarkable growth and development of the CGA-IGC. Through her tireless dedication and visionary approach, she has inspired countless individuals to follow in her footsteps and embrace the values of compassion, empathy, and integrity. Her profound influence has not only shaped the organization's trajectory but also shaped the lives of those fortunate enough to have crossed paths with her. CGA-IGC owes much of its success and reputation to her remarkable contributions, which continue to resonate and shape the future of the organization in immeasurable ways.

Albert de la Chapelle Distinguished Mentor Award

The Distinguished Mentor Award is named in honor of Dr. de la Chapelle, a pioneering geneticist who performed landmark work in the understanding of Lynch Syndrome. He was also known for his kindness and generosity in mentoring future generations of clinicians, researchers, and humanists.

We are delighted to present this award to James M. Church, who was instrumental in the founding and growth of CGA-IGC. He has worked tirelessly with a decades-long approach to generational care, rooted in empathy and understanding before all else and backed by virtually unmatched surgical expertise. Dr. Church, during his 32-year career, has mentored countless individuals internationally, many of whom have not only become excellent surgeons, clinicians, and researchers but also leaders in professional organizations such as CGA-IGC.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page